European Classics: The English Landscape

The English Landscape programme coverDownload the free programme to this concert

Two monumental and quintessentially English works are presented in this programme beginning with Elgar’s iconic cello concerto – a cornerstone of the solo cello repertoire. Composed in the aftermath of the First World War  its contemplative and elegiac mood captures the sprit of a bygone age.

We are delighted to welcome back the talented cellist Maciej Kułakoswki to perform this magnificent concerto with the Firebird Orchestra.

As the perfect foil to this we have a great symphony by Ralph Vaughan Williams. An immediate success since its 1943 premiere, many of the musical themes stem from his then-unfinished opera, The Pilgrim’s Progress.

Edward Elgar Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
Ralph Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 5 in D major

Conductor George Jackson
Cello Maciej Kułakoswki 

Tickets: £40, £30, £20
Box office: book online at Ticketsource


Sep 19 2023


7:30 pm - 9:30 pm


St George's Hanover Square
2A Mill Street, Mayfair, London W1S 1FX