The English Landscape programme

Download your free programme for Tuesday’s concert

You can find out more about the amazing music by Elgar and Vaughan Williams which will feature in The English Landscape concert conducted by George Jackson by downloading your free programme.

Tuesday 19 September 7.30pm 
St George’s Hanover Square, London

Top international cellist Maciej Kułakoswki performs what is now recognised as one of the greatest works of the 20th century: Edward Elgar’s famous Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85.

Composed in 1919, this captivating work was to be Elgar’s final notable work and has become a cornerstone of the solo cello repertoire.

The Symphony No.5 in D Major by Ralph Vaughan Williams was an immediate success at its 1943 premiere. Most notable is the serenity of the work itself as contrasted with the severity of the war then in progress, as well as the allusions to The Pilgrim’s Progress.

Edward Elgar Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
Ralph Vaughan Williams Symphony no. 5 in D

Conductor George Jackson
Cello Maciej Kułakoswki 

Discover a wealth of fabulous music in the 2023/2024 season of Firebird concerts – see what’s on to find all the details and to book tickets online.