Garden of Fire

Garden of Fire

Please note: This concert has been rescheduled from 7 May 2023 to 28 January 2024 in light of The King’s Coronation Weekend.

Ruth Gipps Cringlemire Garden: Impression for string orchestra, Op. 39
Mozart Piano Concerto No.9 in E flat, K. 271 ‘Jeunehomme’
Mozart Voi avete un cor fedele, K. 217
Haydn Symphony No. 59 in A, Hob. I:59 ‘Fire’

Conductor George Jackson
Piano Harris Tsz-Chun Leung
Soprano Sian Dicker

British composer Ruth Gipps is enjoying something of a renaissance with her lyrical orchestral writing and romantic inspiration in Cringlemire Garden.

By contrast the concert ends with Haydn’s so-called ‘Fire Symphony’ – an early work composed tin the 1760s when in the employ of Nikolaus I, Prince Esterházy.

In between, two glorious works by Mozart featuring the talented pianist Harris Tsz-Chun Leung performing a piano concerto described by Alfred Brendel as one of the ‘wonders of the world,’ and the beautiful voice of Sian Dicker performing one of his popular concerts arias.

Box office: Buy online from Kings Place

Presented in collaboration with the London Chamber Music Society

  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00



Jan 28 2024


6:30 pm - 8:30 pm


Kings Place
90 York Way, London N1 9AG