Appalachian Awakening – WATCH ONLINE NOW

For the latest addition to our collection of free online concerts we are delighted to share with you Firebird’s performance of Appalachian Awakening from 24 June.

Throughout this pandemic Firebird has strived to find a safe and viable path to ensure our valuable orchestral concerts can continue to be staged and shared with our audiences.

Last autumn our orchestra performed twice, in October to a socially-distanced audience and in November without a live audience. Both concerts focused on music for strings.

Then in May we started to play again, on a similar basis, but with wind, brass and percussion. And in June we are delighted to be able to present our second concert of the calendar year now that COVID restrictions are gradually easing.

Featuring fabulous music by Copland and Haydn you can view the video of our latest fantastic concert and also download the programme notes – all for free!

AARON COPLAND (1900-1990)
Suite from Appalachian Spring
Original version for 13 piece chamber ensemble

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN (1732 – 1809)
Symphony no. 60 in C Il Distratto

i Adagio – Allegro di molto
ii Andante
iii Menuetto – Trio
iv Presto
v Adagio di Lamentatione
vi Finale: Prestissimo


Filmed live on Thursday 21 June 2021 by Europik Music

We are currently putting the finishing touches to the next season of Firebird concerts. We look forward to announcing these soon!

We are committed in our support of Firebird’s wonderful musicians and providing essential opportunities for them to perform – especially in these challenging times.

Clearly, without an audience to offset some of our costs through ticket sales we do need to asking for donations to support this essential lockdown project and to ensure we continue this valuable work.