The First Cuckoo

The First Cuckoo

Have you heard the First Cuckoo of Spring yet? Firebird is heading to Kings Place on 22 March for The First Cuckoo: Nature Unwrapped. Take a look at some of the great music in store…

Following an invitation from the London Chamber Music Society, we are delighted to return to Kings  Place for the fourth time. Inspired by our name, Firebird explores some of nature’s ornithological themes in music with conductor George Jackson.

The tone poems composed in 1912 by the Bradford born composer Frederick DeliusOn Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring and Summer Night on the River open our concert with a tranquil mood and give the title of the concert.

The first of these Two Pieces for Small Orchestra are an exchange of cuckoo calls between oboe and strings followed by a melody inspired by a Norwegian Folksong.

Next comes Felix Mendelssohn’s bravura Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 which will be performed by virtuoso Emmanuel Bach.

Composed between 1838 and 1844, It now forms an essential part of the violin repertoire and is one of the most popular and most frequently performed violin concertos in history.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was no stranger to virtuosi either and the vocal range of coloratura soprano Samantha Hay is put through its paces in the amazing Queen of the Night Arias: Der Hölle Rache & O zittre nicht from The Magic Flute.

…dazzling coloratura and fearless top notes drew audible gasps!

Music by Josef Haydn concludes the concert with his Symphony no. 83 in G minor.

The second of his six ‘Paris’ Symphonies, it is popularly known as La poule (The Hen) because the clucking melody reminded listeners of the jerky head motion of a walking hen.

This concert has been organised in collaboration with the London Chamber Music Society.

The First Cuckoo: Nature Unwrapped

Sunday 22 March 2020, 6.30 pm
Kings Place, 90 York Way, London, N1 9AG

The First Cuckoo

Delius On Hearing the First Cuckoo
Delius Spring Summer Night on the River
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Mozart The Queen of the Night Arias: Der Hölle Rache & O zittre nicht (from Magic Flute)
Haydn Symphony no. 83 in G minor, Hob.I:83 (La Poule)

Conductor George Jackson
Violin Emmanuel Bach
Coloratura Samantha Hay

London Firebird Orchestra
London Firebird Orchestra